Student progress in middle school is measured against a set of Woodlawn standards which outline what a student should know and be able to do in each subject area at the end of each grade. Based on formative and summative assessments throughout the trimester, teachers identify areas of strength and areas for improvement. Teacher comments are included in each report card and the core subject areas receive letter grades based on the following A – F grading scale:

A 100-93 A- 92-90
B+ 89-87 B 86-83 B- 80-82
C+ 79-77 C 76-73 C- 72-70
D+ 69-67 66-63 D- 62-60
F 59-0